The Student News Site of Malvern Preparatory School

Friar's Lantern

The Student News Site of Malvern Preparatory School

Friar's Lantern

The Student News Site of Malvern Preparatory School

Friar's Lantern


The Friar’s Lantern is the student-run website and print news publication at Malvern Preparatory School in Malvern, Pa.

The principal goals of the website and print are to provide accurate and relevant information to the Malvern community and to offer a forum for intelligent dialogue on all things Malvern. The reporting for these student publications is conducted thoroughly and edited by student leaders to ensure this accuracy to the best of our ability. To fairly provide all points of view, contributions from all members of the Malvern community are welcomed and encouraged through letters of opinion, student reporting, and respectful commentary.


Letters to the editor are encouraged and may be submitted to [email protected]. Anonymous letters will not be published. Editors reserve the right to contact writers or edit submissions for reasons of space or clarity. Our staff also welcomes feedback in the comments section of The Friar’s Lantern online, or via our social media channels. Each comment is subject to review by a moderator or an Editor-in-Chief of the Friar’s Lantern. Commenters’ email addresses must be verified, and comments are reviewed for defamation, profanity, obscenity, libel, and invasion of privacy. Not all comments are published.

Recognition + Awards

2021-2022 Staff Awards

PA Student Keystone Media Award

  • First Place, Kevin Miller – Cartoon/Graphic Illustration
  • First Place, Noah Buscaglia – Layout and Design
  • Honorable Mention, Matt Hess – Feature Story

2017-2018 Staff Awards

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

National Scholastic Press Association

Pennsylvania School Press Association

Journalism Education Association

  • Write-Offs—NHSJC Dallas, November 2017
    • Photo Illustration, Honorable Mention—Ethan Rowley ’18
    • Sports Writing, Honorable Mention—Eric McLaughlin ’18
    • Feature Writing, Honorable Mention—Kyle Leonard ’19
    • Editorial Writing, Honorable Mention—Dan Malloy ’18
    • Newswriting, Honorable Mention—Brian Szipszky ’20

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

Pennsylvania News Media Association Student Keystone Press Awards

Quill and Scroll

  • FIRST PLACE, Sports Page Design—Chase Bennett ’19
  • HONORABLE MENTION, Editorials—Staff

Pennsylvania Press Club








  • Honorable Mention to Steve O’Meara for “Football Begins Inter-AC”


  • 1st place to Chase Bennett for “When the vapor clears.”
  • 2nd place to Chase Bennett and Ethan Rowley for “Freshman Survey 2017”


  • 3rd place to Chase Bennett for “The Return of O’Shaan Allison” 
  • Honorable mention to Chase Bennett for January 2018 front page “Building” ​

Youth Journalism International

  • FINALIST, Student Journalist of the Year: Dan Malloy
  • FIRST PLACE, Editorial: “Fraternity means more than its reputation,” Editorial Board
  • FIRST PLACE, Sports Feature: “The Return of O’Shaan Allison,” Garrett Hallinan
  • FIRST PLACE, Sports News: “Intramural basketball is back and better than ever,” Stowe Milhous
  • HONORABLE MENTION, Enterprise Reporting: “When the Vapor Clears,” Alex Haylock, Mike Harrington, Dan Malloy, Liam McKnight, Billy Corcoran
  • HONORABLE MENTION, First Person Essay: “Catching up with ketchup,” Eric McLaughlin
  • HONORABLE MENTION, General Reviews: “Lunchables: A truly unparalleled culinary experience,” Aidan White

Journalism Education Association

Write-offs – NHSJC Seattle, April 2017

  • SUPERIOR – Eric McLaughlin, Sports Writing
  • EXCELLENT – Dan Malloy, Feature Writing
    • Chase Bennett – Logo Design
    • Ethan Rowley – Photo Illustration
    • Brian Szipszky – Newswriting

Pennsylvania School Press Association

  • Statewide Journalism Competition
    • 2nd Place – Editorials: Tyler Pizzico’17
  • Student Journalist of the Year – Tommy Pero ’17
  • Gold Rating

Pennsylvania News Media Association Keystone Press Awards

  • First Place / Ongoing News Coverage: Head of School Transition / Staff [Tyler Pizzico, Tommy Pero, Michael Harrington, Dan Malloy, Editorial Board]
  • First Place / Sports Story: Committing to Crew / Eric McLaughlin ’18
  • Second Place / Feature Story: Class of 2020 Survey / Staff [Ethan Rowley, Chase Bennett, Tommy Pero, Tyler Pizzico]
  • Second Place / Personality Profile: Commitment / Pat Ferraiolo ’17, Ben Yankelitis ’16
  • Second Place / Columnist: Jack McClatchy ’17
  • Honorable Mention / Public Service / Enterprise Package: A Light of Exposure / Justice Bennett ’16

Youth Journalism International

NFPW National High School Communications Contest

Pennsylvania Press Club High School Communications Contest