Student Council candidates offer speeches


Justice Bennett

“Welcome to the Malvern Prep funniest speech contest 2015,” said Student Council candidate for President Ted Holleran.

On March 12, the Upper School freshmen, sophomores, and juniors met for the annual Student Council speeches during community time.  This assembly was postponed from a scheduled assembly on Thursday, March 5, due to a snow closing.

Kevin Smyth ‘16 spoke as unopposed candidate for Events Chair. Nick Mensack ‘16 gave his speech for an unopposed Secretary position. Running for President and Vice President are Chris Brown, Alex Freud, Ted Holleran, Nick Leasure, and Sam Stroud, all members of the class of 2016.

The Presidential candidate who wins the most votes will be named Student Council President, and the runner-up candidate will be named Vice President.

The assembly was introduced by Student Council advisors Ms. Teresa Lohse and Dr. Joan D’Lugos.  Each speaker was introduced by outgoing Student Council President Ryan Doane ’15.

Elections take place during Community Time and lunches on Friday, March 13.

Video of the speeches follow.  Watch a full playlist.

Kevin Smyth ’16 – Candidate for Events Chair

Nick Mensack ’16 – Candidate for Secretary

Chris Brown ’16 – Candidate for President

Alex Freud ’16 – Candidate for President

Ted Holleran ’16 – Candidate for President


Nick Leasure ’16 – Candidate for President

Sam Stroud ’16 – Candidate for President